Percy Jackson: The begining of the end

So a student recommended this series of books to me.  It’s called Percy Jackson and the Olympians. It’s not exactly what I would call “classic” and it is clearly a rip off  Harry Potter but with Greek mythology instead of wizards.  Percy is Harry complete with special parents and a prophecy, Annabeth is Hermione…a know it all, and Grover is Ron…a well meaning but comic friend.

Now the student that recommended this series to me was what you would call a trouble maker. He wrote X-rated things on desks and spent a lot of time in detention. So when he told me that I had to read a series of books and even loaned me the first one, I had to investigate.

Now, I’m addicted. The books are totally written for kids. It almost sounds like a kid wrote it.

I am getting way to emotionally invested in the characters and the prophecy that surrounds them. They had a “Cedric Diggory” moment at the start of the “Last Olympian” which led me to stay up reading until 2 a.m.  Every book starts of with a prophecy that leads the characters on a quest. By the end of the book the prophecy’s true meaning is revealed and you get that feeling you got at the end of every year at Hogworts when Dumbledore and Harry would have a little second to last chapter chat. I’m sure there is a literary term for that but I am sleep deprived and sitting the Beadtini Boutique using the stores new laptop so don’t expect anything profound!

I fully intend to write a review of the series and develop a plan for using these books in a classroom. I mean, a way to get kids into Greek Mythology? Yes please! 

Overall, I wouldn’t say this series is as good as Harry Potter but it’s an ok substitute. It’s like when I gave up pop for lent and got addicted to Gold Peek Tea.

I will be posting more about this but I a getting kicked out of the store.

Leave a Reply

