Around the “Townhouse”

I’ve been reading a lot of home blogs lately. My favorites are OffBeat Home and ModachromeHome. In fact, I’ve decided that the house in ModachromeHome is my dream home. I’ve also decided that if I would take half the time I spend reading home blogs and put it towards cleaning my house instead my house would be much nicer.

Jordan and I can’t afford to buy a home right now and rent what is technically a “townhouse.” I always laugh at “townhouse” and I’m sure to use air quotes whenever I say it because “townhouse” makes you picture something much larger than our home.

Here’s the breakdown of our house:

We have two bedrooms. One bedroom is our bedroom but if you ask Schrodinger the cat he’ll tell you it is his. The other bedroom is the computer room where Jordan plays video games and does all that engineering student stuff I don’t understand. This room also houses my gigantic troll collection.

We have the tiniest kitchen I’ve ever seen. I think my Barbie house had more counter space and I lovingly call the oven the Polly Pocket Oven. The bathroom is also very small.

The living room and dinning room are both really nice. I tend to spend most of my time in the living room. It’s my favorite room.

We also have a nice size basement which sealed the deal for us when we looked at this house. The basement is divided into two different rooms. In the far room we store our holiday decorations and the old TV we are saving for some reason. The first room we’ve turn into a reptile zoo! We have a wide collection of reptiles and amphibians living down there!

I love our little “townhouse.” My sister in-law described it as having “character” which I think is accurate. Sometimes I feel like it has the kind of character the house on “Green Acres” had…especially when you try working with the maintenance guys who I like to refer to as the “Monroe Brothers.”

Anyway, lately I’ve been feeling a little down about our living situation. So many friends of ours live in newer or bigger places and some can even afford to buy their own homes. We really don’t have a lot of money. Considering I’m a full-time teacher and Jordan is a full-time student and part-time Geek Squad Agent I should really just be happy we have what we have.

These feelings inspired an idea for a series of blog posts “Around the Townhouse.” These posts will include things in or around our home that I think are great/unique/groovy. My posts may not be Offbeat Home or ModachromeHome worthy yet but I’ll share anyway.

 

Leave a Reply

