Around the Townhouse: Green Bar Stool

I brought home my newest piece of retro furniture today! Not only it super groovy and my favorite color it brings back fond memories from my childhood!

My grandparents had 3 of these green bar stools at their kitchen counter for as long as I can remember… and for probably as long as my dad can remember too..the only problem with them was that there were 3 stools and 4 grandkids! So clearly last one to the kitchen was a rotten egg AND had to sit in a normal chair at the table! Grandma bought some new stools so my sister Kelly, cousin Megan and I each took one. My cousin Andrew graciously took himself out of the equation pointing out that there isn’t much you can do with one stool. That’s a good point and to be honest I’m not sure where I am going to keep it yet considering I have no counter space and if I tried to keep it in my kitchen I wouldn’t be able to open the fridge! Oh the joys of living in this tiny townhouse house!!! I did say that I plan on spinning around on it until I was sick just like when we were kids!

Obviously it has some wear and tear on it and I’m pretty sure those are Andrew’s teeth marks on the side but it still works great! Nothing is bent or dented in the metal legs and no screws are missing there are just some tears in the cushion. I could probably fix it up with a little paint, hot glue and some fabric. I’ll keep an eye out for some ideas to fix it up but for now I really want to leave it just the way it is. It brings back memories of  time with my Grandma Barb and Papa Fred like eating scrambled eggs and toast with jelly for breakfast after sleeping over!

It’s a really silly thing to be so nostalgic over but they were just so cool for some reason! It’s cool to think that I can have this little piece of trips to my grandma and grandpa’s house to share with my future children and grandchildren! Since that is so far in the future for now I will just share it with Scrodinger!

 

 

Leave a Reply

