Too used to going without

“We the willing, led by the unknowing, are doing the impossible for the ungrateful. We have done so much, with so little, for so long, we are now qualified to do anything, with nothing.” 
 
I don’t know who said that but that quote was posted in the downstairs office at the museum where I worked in college. It pretty much summed up working at a nonprofit that was in its infancy.  From the museum I went into teaching where you have to learn to what you can with the funding the state can give you. I’m very lucky to work at a school that gives me a lot. 
 
This brings me to my worst case of writer’s block ever! I have a project due in less than 24 hours. This project is to write a proposal for the Martha Holden Jennings Foundation Grant. The project must include some technology but the technology cannot be more than half of the money. I am supposed to pick a project that shows “deeper learning.” That’s not an issue I have a million project ideas! I am never lacking in the creative project-based activities for my classroom department. I think I picked a good one for this project. 
 
My conundrum is that I don’t know how to think up what I need. If my principal came to me tomorrow and said “I want you to do {said project} your budget is $10.” I could do it. I could do it for $10, $100, $1,000, $1,000,000 and heck I could do it for $0. No matter how much money I was given I could do it and my kids would learn. I would make it happen with whatever I had. 
 
This assignment is so difficult for me because it is asking me to change the way I’ve looked at lesson planning for 8 years. I know that this change is exactly the point but I still can’t shake the feeling someone just threw me out of the canoe to teach me how to swim. 
Leave a Reply

