Resolutions

I’ve never been one for resolutions come January 1st…mostly because I will never stick to them. I was watching a news program with my students and they have resolutions like “eat more fruits and veggies”, “wear your seatbelt” and our personal favorite “don’t tease animals.” These are things you should already be doing not resolutions! 

Even before I saw this exciting news story I was thinking of some changes I want to make for real in my life. This idea didn’t stem from the ball dropping in Times Square on New Years Eve. It came from the fact that a week ago a friend of mine died. His name was Danny. He was 27. He was healthy. He was full of life. He went to bed and didn’t wake up. This week I’ve been doing a lot of thinking and I came up with some resolutions of my own. 

1. Take more pictures! I knew Danny for like 5 years but I have 1 picture of him. You can’t even really see his face and he is in a Halloween costume. Danny was at my house warming party back in November. It was the last time I saw him. I didn’t take a single picture that night. My new house was full of family and friends. I should have taken pictures of that! I will take more pictures from now on. I want to be able to look back on these years. I always have the mentality that what we are doing isn’t important because we don’t have kids or aren’t doing anything “important” but we should be documenting these times because we will never get them back. 

2. There is more to life than just work. I put everything on hold for my job and I have no idea why! Don’t get me wrong; I love my job but I have passed up a lot of opportunity to do something fun because I didn’t want to take a day off of work. I work in a field where I work extra hours for no additional pay and feel guilty for taking my paid vacation days. If opportunities come up from now on I am going to take them. My job isn’t my life. As much as I LOVE my students they are not actually my children. I can’t sacrifice my life for them all the time. 

3. I am going to spend more time with the people I care about. I have a lot of really great friends and family and I am going to make the time to see them. 

 

Life is short. We don’t know how much time we have. I am done putting things on hold. 

“Some people live more in 20 years than others do in 80. It’s not the time that matters, it’s the person.”
-Dr. Who

Leave a Reply

